Bulgaria and Romania gain read-only access to EU visa information system


The European Union has granted read-only access to the Visa Information System (VIS) to the competent authorities of Bulgaria and Romania, the EU Agency for the operational management of large-scale IT systems in the area of ​​freedom, security and justice – eu -LISA announced.

The VIS, which is a system that facilitates, among other things, the exchange of data on short-stay visas between Schengen States, will now allow Bulgarian and Romanian authorities to access information on travel within the EU and in the Schengen area without borders on arrival. to these two non-Schengen EU countries.

This way, these two countries will now be able to verify when a traveler has been refused entry to another EU country, including the reasons and frequency of each traveler throughout the block, reports SchengenVisaInfo. com.

“Romania and Bulgaria are not part of the Schengen zone, anyway, having read-only access to the VIS will help them in the use and implementation of the EES, the entry / exit system. , another large-scale IT system that will record the entry and exit of third country nationals to and from the Schengen area to increase automation at border checkpoints and prevent irregular migration “, the statement published by eu-LISA lit.

In addition, the announcement published by the European Union Agency for the Operational Management of Large-Scale Information Systems in the Area of ​​Freedom, Security and Justice, known as eu-LISA , pointed out that “EES, which is slated to go into operation in the first half of 2022, will also require digitizing the current practice of manual passport stamping. “

The VIS was also designed to process data and decisions relating to short-stay visa applications in the Schengen area.

Eu-LISA underlined that read-only access to the VIS would help Bulgaria and Romania to view new visa applications and access e-mail services “for smoother visa processing”.

Both countries will have full access to the VIS if they are part of the borderless zone. In this regard, EU Home Affairs Commissioner Ylva Johansson said earlier this month that the Schengen area should be completed by allowing Bulgaria, Croatia and Romania to take their place in the Schengen area. , because according to her, they have met all the necessary requirements.

Romania and Bulgaria started the procedures for joining the VIS in 2019 after a series of technical tests to join the system.

According to the eu-LISA announcement, Croatia is also in the testing phase and is expected to gain read-only access to the VIS in 2022.

The two Balkan countries joined the European Union in 2007. On the other hand, Croatia became a member of the EU in 2013.

Previously, the European Union Agency for the Operational Management of Large-Scale Information Systems in the Field of Freedom, Security and Justice (eu-LISA) and the European Policy Support Office Asylum Officers signed a cooperation plan, within the framework of the formal labor agreement in force since 2014, in order to cooperate in the areas of the border and internal security of European citizens.

In addition, eu-LISA also cooperates with other European agencies in the field of justice and security, known as Justice and Home Affairs (JHA) agencies – CEPOL, EMCDDA, EIGE, Eurojust, Europol, FRA and Frontex.


About Author

Comments are closed.