Information technology: get professional training


Digital has become a need for all businesses. Even one-person businesses now pay for professional information technology (IT) services.

The United Nations Technology and Innovation Report 2021 states that the world is in “the age of information and communications technology (ICT)”. It is also starting to implement Industry 4.0. It is the application of digital technology in manufacturing processes. The report urges all countries to provide people with access to computer skills training to at least use new computer applications. More training will allow people to improve current technologies and create new ones.

Computer training in the United States

In the United States, access to computer training is widely available online and affordable. Part of the affordability is that these are taken in modules followed by certifications. Each modular certification already qualifies the holder for a variety of IT positions. It is therefore possible to take one module and one certification at a time and work at that level while studying for the next module.

Examinations and certifications are provided by the Computing Technology Industry Association (CompTIA), which also offers training. There are self-study and instructor-led options. Practice tests are also available, such as the Network + N10-007 practice test, to prepare for the certification exam.

CompTIA has four basic or core IT certifications. These are Fundamentals, A +, Network + and Security +. The Fundamentals module is the first step of the course. This covers computer concepts and terminology, infrastructure, databases, applications and software, software development and security.

The course does not qualify the holder for a specific IT job but constitutes the prerequisite for other courses. It allows the student to assess whether he has the capabilities to pursue an IT career. It is also useful for all professionals and employees to enable them to master IT and its applications.

A + qualifies the incumbent for entry-level IT jobs. These include being a Technical Support Specialist, System Support Specialist, Help Desk Technician, End User IT Technician, Field Service Technician, and Data Support Technician. . In addition, a service desk analyst, an office support administrator and an associate network engineer. The module covers hardware, mobile devices, networking, hardware troubleshooting, and network troubleshooting. It also covers operating systems, software troubleshooting, visualization, cloud computing, operational procedures, and security.

Network + covers infrastructure, networking concepts, network operations, network tools, troubleshooting, and network security. It qualifies the incumbent to become IT Technician, Support Technician, Network Field Technician, Network Support Specialist, Junior Network Administrator, Network Field Engineer, Network Analyst, Junior System Engineer, System Engineer and IS Consultant.

Security + is the entry-level requirement for cybersecurity jobs. It qualifies the incumbent to become a security administrator, security analyst and security engineer. Also IT auditor, system administrator, help desk analyst, help desk manager and network engineer. The certificate holder can also become a cloud engineer, DevOps developer, software developer and IT project manager. The module covers architecture, design, implementation and operations. It also covers attacks, threats, vulnerabilities, incident response, governance, risk and compliance.

Core courses prepare the student to pursue a specialization in infrastructure or cybersecurity or both. There are three infrastructure courses: Cloud +, Linux +, and Server +. Cloud + covers cloud architecture, design, cloud deployment, operations, support, troubleshooting, and cloud security.

Linux + focuses on using the Linux system. This covers hardware configuration, system configuration, automation, scripting, system operations, system maintenance, Linux troubleshooting, Linux diagnostics, and security. Server + covers server hardware installation, management, server administration, security, disaster recovery, and troubleshooting.

There are also three cybersecurity courses – CySA +, CASP +, and PenTest +. CySA + covers threat management, vulnerability management, software security, systems security, and security monitoring. It also covers operational monitoring, conformity assessment and incident response.

CASP + covers enterprise security architecture, enterprise security operations and technical integration of enterprise security. It also covers risk management, research, development and collaboration. PenTest + covers information gathering, vulnerability identification and penetration testing tools. It also covers planning, scope, reporting, communication, attacks, and exploits.

Then there are three professional courses for more skills – Project +, CTT +, and Cloud Essentials +. Project + teaches project management. This covers project basics, project constraints, communication, change management, project tools and documentation. CTT + teaches how to become a certified technical trainer. Cloud Essentials + covers the concepts of the cloud. These include business principles of cloud environments, management, technical operations, cloud governance, risk, compliance and security.

A digital world

Advances in digital technology are increasingly improving business processes. They make businesses even more dependent on IT to become competitive. Eventually, all employees of the company will have to take computer training to do their jobs. It will be an advantage to be already an IT professional and move up the ranks quickly or work as a freelance service provider.


About Author

Comments are closed.